Smash and Crash

Advice on general approaches or feasibility and discussions about game design

Re: Smash and Crash

Postby Quirby64 » Sat Aug 08, 2015 9:26 pm

This looks and sounds great! I should go play it soon. :D
A way you could incorporate the flooding idea is to have the player being constantly pushed to the right left (the stream of water!) and have him/her to avoid logs, ect.
User avatar
Quirby64
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:23 am
Location: USA

Re: Smash and Crash

Postby Skyrunner65 » Sat Aug 08, 2015 9:34 pm

Perhaps that, but you've given me an idea!
Black hole disaster!
It sucks you in, along with some other stuff!
Not only would you have to dodge the stuff, but you'd also have to stay away from the black hole.

EDIT:
Whoops, I didn't know you had to sync stuff to Github!
Well now it is, and you get a brand new update because of that!
  • Brand New Black Hole Disaster!
  • Changed Framerate from 20 to 30, for 50% more panic!
  • Added custom sounds(should've used patterns, but those are confusing)
  • Classed up the death screen (You're going to see it a lot anyways).

EDIT #2:
Another update! Maps are good for variety, so 3 maps and a map system were added!
User avatar
Skyrunner65
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:37 pm
Location: NC,USA

Explanation of the Map System

Postby Skyrunner65 » Sun Aug 09, 2015 8:27 pm

(It probably wouldn't fit into the last post... sorry!)
Here's an explanation of how the map system works, because I don't know how Tiles can collide with Sprites (I should probably look at Super Crate Buino's code).

mapscroll is used for the selection menu.

Code: Select all
//Drawing
          gb.display.drawBitmap(0,44,platform);
          gb.display.drawBitmap(30,28,platform2);

First, we draw the terrain. I just used the two platforms I already had(I'm lazy, okay? :oops: ).

Code: Select all
if(gb.collideBitmapBitmap(playerx, playery, player, 0, 44, platform) == true){
            playery = 38;
            playergrav = 0;
            playerjump = true;
          }
          else if(gb.collideBitmapBitmap(playerx, playery, player, 30, 28, platform2) == true){
            playery = 22;
            playergrav = 0;
            playerjump = true;
          }
          else {
            playergrav = playergrav + 1;
            playerjump = false;
          };

The "If" statement is where I put the collision data for the first platform. When I collide with the platform, it pushes me above the platform and sets my gravity to 0, allowing me to jump. Do "else if" for any other platforms. the "else" statement covers falling.

Code: Select all
if((gb.collideBitmapBitmap(meteorx, meteory, meteor, 0, 44, platform)) || (gb.collideBitmapBitmap(meteorx, meteory, meteor, 30, 28, platform2)) == true){
            gb.display.drawBitmap(meteorx, meteory + 4, blow);
            meteory = -6;
            meteorx = random(0,76);
          };

I put in Meteor collision code for certain scenarios (like a roof in Tower). When the meteor hits the platforms specified above, It will make another in a random area.

It's basically the same for the Arrow, but you can ignore the base platform.

I recommend the "Lonely" map if you want to start making maps. :D
User avatar
Skyrunner65
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:37 pm
Location: NC,USA

Re: Smash and Crash

Postby Skyrunner65 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 4:38 pm

Another update!
I would say that I'm finished with this, but I could do more, I dunno.

  • added a .INF file, for the latest loader!
  • Changed the Title Screen.
  • Fixed a few bugs.

This game is now on the Game list! :o
User avatar
Skyrunner65
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:37 pm
Location: NC,USA

Re: Smash and Crash

Postby EatMyBlitch » Mon Aug 10, 2015 7:20 pm

i installed the inf and hex file on my gamebuino but it does not show up in the game loader. i also had this problem with some other games.
EatMyBlitch
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 4:29 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Smash and Crash

Postby Skyrunner65 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:28 am

Do you have the latest loader and Bootloader?
If not, see the Getting Started page on the Wiki.
User avatar
Skyrunner65
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:37 pm
Location: NC,USA

Re: Smash and Crash

Postby EatMyBlitch » Tue Aug 11, 2015 8:01 am

Well i can just look at my gamebuino and see the new loader so that's not the problem. But what do you mean by the bootloader ?
Everything works fine on my Gamebuino exept for like 3 games sooooo.
EatMyBlitch
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 4:29 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Smash and Crash

Postby Skyrunner65 » Tue Aug 11, 2015 4:19 pm

Does anyone else have problems related to Smash and Crash?
It would be great if I could know whether or not this would work on actual hardware.
User avatar
Skyrunner65
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:37 pm
Location: NC,USA

Re: Smash and Crash

Postby EatMyBlitch » Wed Aug 12, 2015 9:11 am

i fixed it :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
and the game works fine. only in my opinion the player jumps a little bit to super high. :lol:
EatMyBlitch
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 4:29 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Smash and Crash

Postby Skyrunner65 » Wed Aug 12, 2015 1:11 pm

Yeah, you're right, he does jump a little high.
Fixed now.
User avatar
Skyrunner65
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:37 pm
Location: NC,USA

PreviousNext

Return to Project Guidance & Game development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 50 guests

cron