Pinball test (with vector graphics)

Advice on general approaches or feasibility and discussions about game design

Pinball test (with vector graphics)

Postby Atomic » Wed May 20, 2015 7:08 am

Warning: Ugly code within. I'm a self-taught programmer and I hate to admit it but it shows. Badly. Also I'm terrible at math so don't take my calculations as a proper way to do things.

UPDATE: It actually looks like a game now! The pinball table needs a lot of work, but the physics engine is mostly functional. There is still a tiny error where the ball will 'snag' at the end of the flippers.

Attachments
pinball.zip
(97.35 KiB) Downloaded 319 times
Last edited by Atomic on Tue May 26, 2015 2:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
Atomic

Re: Pinball test (with vector graphics)

Postby Atomic » Mon May 25, 2015 2:25 am

Hmm so my game hasn't got much attention.

Well, I rewrote the whole thing and it's been vastly improved. No more hangs, mostly proper physics (yet much faster), and working flippers!

Ball drain isn't implemented, and firing the ball is rudimentary. The table is also very simple, and you get an unlimited number of balls. There is a bug in the physics where the ball will rarely pass through the left flipper, particularly towards the tip of it. I don't have a Gamebuino yet so if anyone could test this on the actual hardware that would be awesome.

controls:
Left - left flipper
B - right flipper
Down - reset/fire ball

Only .HEX file attached this time. I'll release the source when it's finished.
Attachments
pinball.zip
(22.93 KiB) Downloaded 314 times
Atomic

Postby Quirby64 » Mon May 25, 2015 3:21 am

This sounds interesting! Mind sharing a screenshot?

(I checked the first post an waited for someone else to reply)
Quirby64

Postby Atomic » Mon May 25, 2015 3:33 am

pinball.png
pinball.png (9.36 KiB) Viewed 5783 times

Not much to see in a screenshot. I did away with the zooming feature and the screen scrolls vertically.