[EN] Kriegsherr Advance Wars similar game

Advice on general approaches or feasibility and discussions about game design

[EN] Kriegsherr Advance Wars similar game

Postby mictator » Wed Jun 10, 2015 7:58 pm

Hello,

i want to make a Advance Wars game. I know here is Myndal who has the same project. I think he can help me good

I want to explain that i not happy to say a Advance War game. Nintendo is late with this kind of game.

1.The Grandfather of all this games is Nectaris from Hudson Soft for the PC Engine. Military Madness the US Version.

2.Then came Daisenryaku (World War II and Modern conflicts). Here is more complexity, they must balancing the unit's. A T-34 and Panzer I need historical values.

3. The Western Clones. Battle Isle (Nectaris) and Panzer General (Daisenryaku WW II).

4. Advance Wars (Nectaris Clone). The last of this series of games and most popular.

Ok, i'm a newbie and want not a too complex Turn based strategy game. I want it to make it like Nectaris (I've buyed 1990 a PC Engine and Nectaris for 400 DM).

So, my Questions.

5. Can i make save games on the sd card?
6. I read here is a programm with the name tiled. Is it good?
7. A question to myndale. Can i have a look to your game? BuinoWars

more follow later

thanks
Last edited by mictator on Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mictator

Re: English Thread for a Advance Wars similar game

Postby Marcus » Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:34 pm

Hi,

find another name, e.g. Buinowars, Conflictuino, etc.

Start simple, consider 2D instead of Isometric ("2.5D"). Also keep in mind at 84x48 display resolution, the graphics can be quite tricky. :-)

5 - yes, 6- yes it can save some time when making graphics but you still need an image editor (Paint.net, Gimp, and perhaps viewtopic.php?f=12&t=1000)

Ciao!
Marcus

Postby mictator » Wed Jun 10, 2015 8:50 pm

2D, hexoganal maps are my choice.

Myndal had give his project Buinowars i think. I don't won't steal his name? Or can I?