Page 1 of 2

[SOLVED] gb.titleScreen() not working

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 9:59 am
by Xenoth
Hey,

I have decided to get back on Gamebuino after like 1 year cauz of my studies.
I am planning to use the Gamebuino as clock, with DS3231 I2C module, to learn more

But, I am having many issues, like "gb.titleScreen(F("Clockuino"));" not appearing,no popup,...
I tried to run it on Simbuino4web emulator, and it seems to work there

So i noticed that titleScreen don't appear anymore in many on my old games too, I had aslo compiled Gamebuino exemples like pong, no titleScreen, popup...

I'm working with Gamebuino library downloaded recently
I really dunno what to do :/

my code is here : https://github.com/Xenoth/Clock
(As there is no I2C module connected, it's suppose to run function "notDetected()" into main, or at least the titleScreen in setup(), but not working

Re: gb.titleScreen() not working

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:10 am
by Sutchig
Hi,

i tested your Sketch with my gamebuino and titleScreen works. You may flash the new Loader (unlikely) or perhaps your A-button is defective. there is a button-example in the gamebuino library ;)

to your sketch:
-fontsize is multiple of current font. if you have defaultfont (7px height??) and set fontsize=10, then the numbers are 70px, which is to much.
-the masking for 12/24hour and am/pm is buggy. 0b is the prefix, then there should be eight 1/0. if you write 0b001 its an decimal 1, so no problem, but you misses some "1"s ;)
-hard to explain: if no clock is attached, the wire lib may hang forever (as it's blocking) the way you test for presence. the best way to test is:
Code: Select all
Wire.startTransmission(ADDRESS);
result=Wire.endTransmission();

result is the returncode. 0 is good.

Re: gb.titleScreen() not working

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 11:45 am
by Xenoth
A button works well, i suppose then it's my loader, i have downloaded the last, what should i take ?

And Yeah it's not over, it's my first I2C module , i am waiting to receive it to know what's working and what i should fix but thanks a lot for help :3
And to know id it's connected a friend advised me to use the Wire.avaible(), but of course doesn't works when i set value, i'll try your solution it seems better :D

Re: gb.titleScreen() not working

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 12:18 pm
by Xenoth
I did notced that triying to use gb.tittleScreen() will restart the game, in every games running on my console

Re: gb.titleScreen() not working

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 12:39 pm
by Sutchig
the one from https://github.com/Rodot/Gamebuino-Games-Compilation should be ok, its the last i know.
is your titleScreen problem at actually downloaded HEX-files (link above) too, or only by self compiled games and the old ones?

Re: gb.titleScreen() not working

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 1:35 pm
by Xenoth
I already have tried this one this morning, and the issue is still here for all games even already compiled, not only mines, that's really weird :/

Re: gb.titleScreen() not working

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 1:46 pm
by Sorunome
What does work? Normal game stuff? If so, try running the settings wizard in the settings program and be sure to save.

Re: gb.titleScreen() not working

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 1:56 pm
by Xenoth
Everything works into Setting's Wizzard, buttons, light sensor/blacklight, battery, display, i can fix all my settings and I do have speaker output too

Games works well i did noticed nothing wrong, popups working (i surely did a mistake sorry). The only thing is my Gamebuino unabled to print gb.titlleScreen(), into all games, instead it resets the game, forcing me to C+Down to launch Loader.hex

Re: gb.titleScreen() not working

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 2:01 pm
by Sorunome
Have you tried running the setup thing again? (and saving)

Re: gb.titleScreen() not working

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 2:10 pm
by Xenoth
Oh my !
It's working now !

I did selected Erase settings, then Default settings, then i have changed it, and now it works everywhere again thanks a lot :D

I still dunno what was really my problem, could you explain me ? :)