Highscores and Savegames, how do I do it?

Understanding the language, error messages, etc.

Highscores and Savegames, how do I do it?

Postby JWinslow23 » Sun Mar 01, 2015 6:31 pm

Hey, guys. I'm new to the Gamebuino community, and I wanna know about how to make a savegame or a highscore (or a list of highscores, but maybe later). How would I do it? I poked around on the forums, and it looks like something called EEPROM has something to do with it?
JWinslow23

Re: Highscores and Savegames, how do I do it?

Postby Myndale » Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:34 am

Yes, Gamebuino uses the ATMega328p micro-controller which has 1024 bytes of EEPROM. The easiest way to access it is via the built-in EEPROM library which is documented here:

http://arduino.cc/en/Reference/EEPROM

In my BuinoWars project there is a file called saveload.ino which shows how to save and load an entire structure, including validity checks to see if a previous savegame (or high score table) is already present.
Myndale

Postby JWinslow23 » Tue Mar 03, 2015 5:46 pm

And is it possible to be able to quit the game and still be able to load the save next time you load the game? I'm trying in Simbuino, and when I press C on the title screen, it erases the saved game.
JWinslow23

Postby Myndale » Tue Mar 03, 2015 9:41 pm

JWinslow23 wrote:And is it possible to be able to quit the game and still be able to load the save next time you load the game? I'm trying in Simbuino, and when I press C on the title screen, it erases the saved game.

That shouldn't be happening. EEPROM persists until it's overridden by another app or cleared by the menu, it also saves itself to settings between Simbuino sessions. Which game are you running?
Myndale

Postby JWinslow23 » Wed Mar 04, 2015 12:42 am

For my 2048 game (and some other games like Paqman, Asterocks, haven't tested others) whenever I press C on the title screen, the highscores erase. Download the .zip here.